Thinking About Stories

I have been thinking about stories lately and what makes a great story. I hope that learning about good stories will help me as I work on my space war app.

Two good TED videos: (1) The Clues to a Great Story, by Andrew Stanton; (2) The Mystery Box, by J. J. Abrams. Both have funny parts, but are are also very thought-provoking.

I especially like the line, “Drama is anticipation mingled with uncertainty.” How would that play out in a game?

Abrams’ talk is about using mystery to drive interest.  As a fan of the old Lost show, I really appreciate it when J. J. Abrams says early on, “What the Hell is that island?”. For my game, I am still searching for the right way to introduce the mystery that lies behind the levels in the game.


About Bill Lahti

Bill Lahti is a software engineer building mobile applications and knowledge management solutions. Two of his interests are writing for this blog and building Android apps, with strategy games being an area of particular interest.
This entry was posted in Android, Game Design and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

