Eclipse Debugging Fix for Nexus 7 and Galaxy Nexus

I found a way to get debugging back for my Galaxy Nexus while running Eclipse on Windows 8. It was very annoying to go without using ADB for my Galaxy Nexus. I had about 3-4 months where Eclipse ADB would not detect my device. I would  turn debugging on and off, reset ADB with kill-server,  reinstall device drives, but got nowhere. This was only for Windows. Everything was fine at home, where I use a Macbook.

What led me to the answer was the upgrade of my Nexus 7 tablet to Android 4.4. As soon as that happened, ADB would no longer detect the tablet. So there I was — two devices and neither could be used with Eclipse. I definitely had to find a fix. Fortunately, Google searches related to Nexus 7 and ADB got me to a Stack Overflow page that had the information I needed.

StackOverflow question

What I needed was buried in one of the comments: “how to activate USB debugging for the NEW Nexus 7 on Windows 8“. The answer was to configure USB to connect as “Camera (PTP) rather than a “Media device (MTP)”. Getting to that screen was a bit hard to find. It is on the context menu of the Settings-Storage screen. That was about the last place I would look for configuring something related to USB. Anyway, it worked for Nexus 7.

Since it worked for Nexus 7, I decided to try it for my Galaxy Nexus also. Sure enough, it worked and I am back to debugging and looking at Logcat windows in Eclipse.

I am sharing this with readers of this blog in case others have the same problem on Windows 8 and, like me, do not immediately recognize the answer on StackOverflow.


About Bill Lahti

Bill Lahti is a software engineer building mobile applications and knowledge management solutions. Two of his interests are writing for this blog and building Android apps, with strategy games being an area of particular interest.
This entry was posted in Android and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

